Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
A database is a searchable, online index to resources of all types, including reference materials; magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles; multimedia sources; images; maps; reports and statistics; chapters from books; and born-digital material.
- Database resources are carefully chosen by the database editors, and therefore you can rely on the credibility of the content
- Database content is generally not available for free anywhere else on the internet
- Our library subscribes to a number of different databases in order to support the research needs of students and faculty across the curriculum
Click HERE to access an alphabetical list of our databases with descriptions.
American National Biography
Portraits of over 17,400 Americans whose lives have shaped the nation and over 2,000 Library of Congress illustrations.
This extensive collection allows students to search all Proquest subject databases simultaneously or limit to a specific discipline.
Modern World History Online
Modern World History Online covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history–from mid-15th century to the present.
A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
JSTOR, an acronym for journal storage, is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. Since 1995 JSTOR has worked with scholars to preserve their research and the materials they rely upon, and to build a common research platform. All journal articles indexed in this database are fulltext, but there is a "moving wall" of currency; you will not find the most recent year or two of most journal titles, but for the titles indexed, the coverage goes all the way back to the first issue of publication.
Includes multiple database searching for EBSCO's Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Health Source, MAS Ultra, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection, TOPICsearch, eBook Collection and the ATLA Religion Database.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides information on social issues, and includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text articles from newspapers, journals, and magazines.
- Browse the broad category boxes on the homepage. (Note that each has a few exemplary subtopics included)
- Click on the View All link in the top right corner of the box to see a full list of subtopics
- Click into a subtopic
- Results will be categorized in boxes by genre (Again, note the View All link in the top right corner of the box)
- Websites are included as a genre, and you are encouraged to use them, as they have been evaluated for credibility by the editors of Opposing Viewpoints
- Print, email, or download resources as appropriate
Proquest Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials and reviews from newspapers, journals, magazines of the ethnic and minority press.
Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.