Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
A database is a searchable, online index to resources of all types, including reference materials; magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles; multimedia sources; images; maps; reports and statistics; chapters from books; and born-digital material.
- Database resources are carefully chosen by the database editors, and therefore you can rely on the credibility of the content
- Database content is generally not available for free anywhere else on the internet
- Our library subscribes to a number of different databases in order to support the research needs of students and faculty across the curriculum
Click HERE to access an alphabetical list of our databases with descriptions.
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS Knowledge Source
This general reference database contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. In addition, the database provides overviews and pros and cons of major controversial issues. Search results are grouped into magazine, newspaper, viewpoint, and graphics categories.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Proquest Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials and reviews from newspapers, journals, magazines of the ethnic and minority press.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides information on social issues, and includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text articles from newspapers, journals, and magazines.
- Browse the broad category boxes on the homepage. (Note that each has a few exemplary subtopics included)
- Click on the View All link in the top right corner of the box to see a full list of subtopics
- Click into a subtopic
- Results will be categorized in boxes by genre (Again, note the View All link in the top right corner of the box)
- Websites are included as a genre, and you are encouraged to use them, as they have been evaluated for credibility by the editors of Opposing Viewpoints
- Print, email, or download resources as appropriate
Modern World History Online
Modern World History Online covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history–from mid-15th century to the present.
Global Issues in Context
This database offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. It includes hundreds of continuously updated, media-rich issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health and cultural issues.
Biography in Context
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, podcasts, videos, and more. People from all walks of life and all periods of history are represented.
A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.