Skip to main content

U.S. History - Supreme Court Cases Fall 2017: Databases

American History Online

                                     http://www.fofweb.com/DataIcons/AmericanHistory_icon.gif 

 American History Online Database
This database is maintained by Facts On File, a publisher of standard reference books and encyclopedias. Many of the Facts on File publications are available in their entirety, some in partial contents. The database also includes historical documents and images from collections such as the Library of Congress and the National Archives.

  • Click in the American History Online icon above.
  • You may scroll through the Browse section for an overview of available resources by time period
  • For best results, enter your term(s) in the Search box in the top right corner
  • Click on Search

NoodleTools Notes:

  • Choose "database" to answer the question "Where is it?"
  • Then use the information near the title of the article to help you choose the answer to the question "What is it?"  It will usually be either a book or a reference source.
  • Then copy and paste the citation that appears in the box at the top right.
  • Fill in the date box using the copyright year you find in the citation.
  • Add the URL in the separate URL box.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

  Opposing Viewpoints

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Current events topics drawn from the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press.

NoodleTools Notes:

  • Choose "database" to answer the question "Where is it?"
  • Choose what type of source you are using by looking at the source box. Is it a reference source? Magazine?  Journal? etc
  • Choose "quick cite: copy and paste" then copy and paste the citation that appears in the box at the top right.
  • Fill in the date box using the copyright year you find in the citation.
  • Include the URL.

Databases vs Websites

Databases

  • Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
  • Cannot be searched by Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

  • Access is free.  No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website.  The information included is often not verified by anyone.
  • Can be searched by a variety of search engines, including Google and Nettrekker.
  • Must examine with a critical eye!

How to access databases when off campus

  • The electronic databases on this page will require a username and password when you access them from off campus. 
  • Your username is your student ID and your password is your last name. 
  • Your student ID can be found on the schedule you received at the beginning of the semester or in a notebook in the library.