Skip to main content

American History Through Inventions or Objects (Spring 2017): Databases

Ms. Wilson

What is a database?

A database is a searchable, online index to resources of all types, including reference materials; magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles; multimedia sources; images; maps; reports and statistics; chapters from books; and born-digital material.

  • Database resources are carefully chosen by the database editors, and therefore you can rely on the credibility of the content
  • Database content is generally not available for free anywhere else on the internet
  • Our library subscribes to a number of different databases in order to support the research needs of students and faculty across the curriculum

Click HERE to access an alphabetical list of our databases with descriptions.

 

 

American National Biography

 


Portraits of over 17,400 Americans whose lives have shaped the nation and over 2,000 Library of Congress illustrations.

Modern World History Online

Modern World History Online covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history–from mid-15th century to the present.

Project Muse


A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

JSTOR

JSTOR, an acronym for journal storage, is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. Since 1995 JSTOR has worked with scholars to preserve their research and the materials they rely upon, and to build a common research platform. All journal articles indexed in this database are fulltext, but there is a "moving wall" of currency; you will not find the most recent year or two of most journal titles, but for the titles indexed, the coverage goes all the way back to the first issue of publication.

GreenFILE

 

This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Smithsonian Primary Sources in U.S. History

This database contains documents, maps, historical objects, and other materials from the museums and archives of the Smithsonian. This database is accessed through a trial subscription, so please give a librarian your feedback on how you like it.  Thanks!

American History Online


American History Online is a resource from Facts On File, a publisher of standard reference books and encyclopedias. It contains historical documents and images from collections such as the Library of Congress and the National Archives.

Proquest Online

This extensive collection allows students to search all Proquest subject databases simultaneously or limit to a specific discipline.

American Periodical Series (Proquest)

 

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.