Skip to main content

American History Through Inventions or Objects (Spring 2017): Books, CDs & DVDs

Ms. Wilson

Subject Headings

Some general search terms to help get you started are listed below.  This is definitely not an exhaustive list, so please ask a librarian if you need to find additional books and/or AV materials specific to your topic or decade.  Nonfiction books may be checked out for three weeks.

1910s [NOTE:  Use this format for any decade]
Edison, Thomas  [NOTE: Use this format for any personal name]

Inventions -- United States
Inventors -- United States
[Name of invention]  Ex:  Steam engine

United States -- History -- 19th century
United States -- History -- 20th century

African-Americans -- Civil Rights
School integration
Cold war
Counterculture
Women's rights -- United States
Feminism -- United States

 

Library Collections

Use the library catalog to find books and media from the print and electronic collections in the CFL!

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 



The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences.

Reference Books

Our Reference section on the main floor of the library contains several resources that will provide excellent background information for your project topics.  You may check out reference books starting at backwork and must return them by 9:00 AM the following school day.

A.  The following Reference books specifically address individual decades of the 20th century.  You should consult each series of books, since they very in the scope, content, and focus of what is covered:

American Decades (10 vols.)  Ref. 973.92- AMERICAN

Our American Century (13 vols.) Ref. 973.92-OUR

This Fabulous Century (8 vols.) Ref. 973.92-TIME

Twentieth-Century America (10 vols.) Ref. 973.921-TWENT

B.  Other helpful Reference books include:
Annals of America (23 vols. plus index)  Ref. 973-ANNALS

Ablum of America (3 vols.)  Ref. 973.022-ALBUM

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History (3 vols.)  Ref. 973.03-ENCY

Encyclopedia of American Studies (4 vols.)  Ref. 973.03-ENCY