Skip to main content

Human Rights: JanTerm 2018: Books & Media

Reference Books

Check the following books in our Reference collection, particularly at the outset of your research.  They will give you good information to help with context as you frame your topic:

Human Rights in the United States: a Dictionary with Documents  Ref. 342.73-CART

Encyclopedia of Terrorism  Ref. 303.625-KUSH

Countries and Their Cultures  Ref. 306.02-COUNT

World Encyclopedia of Peace  Ref. 327.1-WORLD

Encyclopedia of World Poverty  Ref. 362.5-ENCY

 

Library Catalog

Our library's online catalog points you to the physical location and availability of print books on the shelves as well as to audio-visual resources, such as e-books, in the Carlyle Fraser Library.  For help searching in the catalog, or finding useful subject terms for your topic, please see or email a librarian.  Most library materials may be checked out for three weeks, except for Reference materials, which may be checked out overnight.
Part of the info you will need is provided when you click on the title of the item as a search result inside the catalog.  The numbering system for the location of items on the shelf is the Dewey Decimal System:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 



The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences.

Books