Skip to main content

Chemistry and Culture of Food: Home

Using the Journal Finder


If you know the name of a publication you'd like to search, put the journal, magazine, or newspaper's title into the Journal Find search box (note: this will find journal, magazine and newspapers by title only; author or article name searches will not work in the Journal Finder).
Some titles to try:

Gourmet (magazine)

New York Times (newspaper)

Smithsonian (magazine) 

 

Popular and Local Food Media

Atlanta-Journal Constitution - Major local newspaper; the CFL keeps 2 weeks in print, and archival coverage is available through our databases

Atlanta Magazine - The CFL keeps 1 year of print issues; limited archival coverage is available for free on their website

Creative Loafing - Local alternative paper, useful for restaurant reviews and regional food coverage. 

Eater - Restaurant-focused web and social media source with city-specific coverage. 

 

Downloadable Magazines

Atlanta Fulton Public Library Downloadable Magazines

The Atlanta-Fulton Public Library has full-color, downloadable subscriptions through two platforms, Zinio and Flipster. Titles that could be useful for this project include: Food Network MagazineMartha Stewart Living, Bon Apetit, ; these titles run regular features on chefs, regional cuisines, restaurants, recipes, home cooking, and other food-related topics. Limited back issues are also available. 

To access, you will need an Atlanta Fulton Public Library card (all students are eligible for one when you show your student ID), and the Zinio or Flipster app, depending on which platform you downloaded the magazine from. If you need help getting set up, come see Ms. Pansulla (bring your AFPL library card).

 

These are just some of the downloadable magazines available through Atlanta Fulton Public Library: 
 

 

James Beard Foundation Awards

The James Beard Foundation gives award every year for a variety of food media (television shows, cookbooks, blogs, etc.), including awards for best specific magazine/newspaper articles, and an award for best overall food coverage from a general-interest publication (i.e. a daily newspaper). 

Check out past award nominees to get some specific articles to try, and some newspapers and magazines to look at. 

Pay attention to the section of the newspaper or magazine; you'll need that info when you want to browse all the available articles.

Example 1: Browsing all articles from the food-themed section of a magazine or paper
The Washingtonian's "Taste" section was a 2014 nominee for best overall food coverage. To browse the library databases for any articles from that section of the Washingtonian, first enter "Washingtonian" in the Journal Finder search box. See how many databases the library has with that paper; check to make sure the dates of coverage are what you want (some of our databases only cover certain years). Click the appropriate database; you will be taken to a search screen already filtered to just articles from the Washingtonian. Now see if there's an option to filter by section; if there is, choose Section and enter "Taste" in the search field; your results list will be all articles from the "Taste" section of the Washingtonian - now you can enter more search terms or just browse your results!

Example 2: Looking for a specific nominated article
If you have an article title, the magazine or newspaper it was published in, and the author's name, you can quickly see if the library databases have a copy of the article. First enter the magazine or newspaper title in the Journal Finder search box. Then check your results to see which database(s) have coverage for the year your article was published. Click the database link, and you will be taken to a search screen already filtered to results just from that magazine or newspaper. Now set one search field to "Title" and enter your article title - put the article title in quotation marks! Alternatively, you can set one search field to "Author" and enter the author's name; if you're not getting any hits, try changing the order (Jane Doe didn't work? Try Doe, Jane). 

 


 

 

 

Famous Food Writers

Stumped? Want to see if your favorite food blogger has also been published in more traditional magazines, newspapers, or established websites? Try the databases Academic Search Complete and Access World News and do an author search; set the search type to "Author," then enter the author's name in the search box. Jane Doe not working? Trying entering Doe, Jane too. 

Authors to try:
Ruth Reichl
Mark Bittman
Tamar Haspel
Adam Sachs


Want more suggestions? Try searching "food memoir" on Amazon, Goodreads, or even just googling it! Check the James Beard Foundation awards for more names of foodie famous folks!

 

ProQuest Newstand

 

Our best database for newspaper coverage; you can filter by a specific paper, or search across publications. Set the filters (on the left-side menu) to help narrow your search parameters. Try limiting to full-text-only results. 

Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.